My favorite healthy meals when I’m out and about!

So let’s face it, we all like to go out and treat ourselves with a huge piece of cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory every now and then as a cheat meal, but what if it’s not your cheat day & you have to go out for a birthday, celebration, work party, etc? Below I’m going to list my favorite HEALTHY meals and options when I’m out to eat at some of my favorite restaurants!

Cheesecake Factory: So God bless Cheesecake Factory for making the Skinnylicious menu because it takes the guess work right out of trying to find something healthy to eat – although the salt content is pretty high in some of these items (ya gotta make it taste good, right?) you can always ask to have you item cooked with minimal salt! So here’s a few of my favs!

+ Greek Salad as a starter

+ Skinnylicious Caesar salad (TO DIE FOR!)

+ Chicken lettuce wrap tacos (Mexican style w/ no crema)

+ Skinnylicious grilled salmon w/ asparagus

+ Skinny Margarita if you’ve had a rough day 😉

Panera Bread: Panera is iffy with me because some of their stuff isn’t necessarily the freshest of ingredients, but I guess that’s to be expected when you’re out to eat, unfortunately. Plus their menu is seasonal which irritates me & they get rid of some of their menu items randomly, BUT, nonetheless, I usually order one solid meal every time I go and it’s actually really delicious!

+ Pick two of: Greek salad w/ chicken + a cup of black bean soup + an apple instead of bread or chips!

+ Their steak and egg power bowl was my all time favorite thing to order for breakfast there – BUT, just like Panera does, THEY GOT RID OF IT?! I believe if you go there, you can still ask for it and they’ll make you one – but it’s not on the menu any longer which is a shame.

BJ’s Brewhouse: BJ’s also has a healthy menu option called the BJ’s EnLIGHTened Entrees and if you can resist the temptation of their delicious root beer, you’ll be pretty set as far as eating a decent meal there!

+ BBQ Bison burger (all time favorite!)

+ Hawaiian Mahi-Mahi

+ They have a new Fire Roasted Barbacoa chicken there that also looks really delicious, but I have not tried it yet!

EO Burger: EO Burger has some seriously delicious food, but they aren’t necessarily the healthiest of burgers out there. I normally only get one or two things whenever I go there because everything else is pretty much a heart attack on a plate + they don’t really have any healthy side items.

+ Gobble burger with no cheese or cranberry mayo on a whole wheat bun w/ no fries.

+ They have the option to “Cluck It”, which means you can make any burger a chicken sandwich – but I’m not entirely sure if it’s grilled or fried chicken :/

BD’s Mongolian Grill: Hands down my favorite place to eat out when I’m watching my diet because you basically control your entire plate – salt, seasoning, veggies, meats, EVERYTHING.

+ Chicken + Sirloin w/ broccoli, green onions, yellow onions, green bell peppers, tiny amount of red potatoes, w/ mongolian ginger sauce + 1 egg. BOOM. seriously, the sauce makes it & it’s pretty clean.

Olive Garden: I know, the breadsticks – but you can easily eat 5 in one sitting and meet your entire DRV of calories, salt, carbs & fat with one food item & who wants to do that? 1 breadstick is 140 calories & 460 mg of sodium………….

+ Baked Tilapia w/ shrimp + asparagus (also some salad they give you, because yum).

+ Sometimes I’ll have a glass of red wine because as we all know it’s heart healthy & delicious!

Chipotle: Everytime I order this certain bowl they give me the strangest looks & I don’t know why because it has a name so I’m sure people other than me order it?!

+ Steak 3- pointer bowl which is simply just brown rice & steak. It’s really filling & good as far as macros go!

+ I never get their chips because HOLY SALT. Their corn salsa is also loaded with salt unfortunately 😦

BW3’s: Their wings are just heaven, but believe it or not there’s actually some pretty decent options there as well as far as healthy eating goes or if you just don’t feel like running to the bathroom 4 minutes after you pound 8 wings.

+ Naked Tender with desert heat seasoning (if you don’t like heat, DON’T get this seasoning because it will light you up!)

+ Sometimes I get a small garden salad with no dressing & cut my naked tenders up and put them on my salad for a healthier chicken salad! + I take my favorite healthy salad dressing with me so I can use them instead of the fatty ones they have at most restaurants!

Starbucks: Basic. I know. But Starbucks has some really delicious & healthy food + drinks!

+ My go to drink: Trenta iced green tea w/ no sweetener. I actually hate coffee, so I never order anything but teas or refreshers when I go there!

+ Hearty Blueberry whole grain oatmeal w/ honey. SO good & actually perks me up quite a bit!

+ Fresh berries & honey yogurt

So, I hope some of these options may help you next time you’re out to eat or you just want to try something I mentioned! I usually only drink water with all these meals because I try to stay away from pops (I’ll drink green tea too!). Let me know if you’ve tried any of these & what you think of them or what some of your favorite options are at the restaurants I mentioned! As always, thanks for reading (:

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.35.58 PM

One thought on “My favorite healthy meals when I’m out and about!

Leave a Reply

