Homemade Healthy Sweet Potato Fries!

I started making these with no recipe and just plans to wing it and hope they turned out okay, and booooooy did they ever. I’m really excited because this is the first recipe I’ve ventured out and made up on my own. I’m sure there’s 500 different recipes out there for homemade sweet potato fries, but I wanted to do mine a little differentialy because honestly I hate sweet potatoes. I have tried so many recipes to make them taste even okay to me and I’ve hated every single one of them. I’ve tried them baked, chips, mashed & even fried as a last ditch effort- nothing, disgusting. So this motivated me to try and do something that I personally would like & feel free to switch any of these ingredients up for something you might like more! I featured my favorite Flavor God seasonings that I use on everything & I decided I wanted more of a savory flavor on my fries, so these are the ingredients I gathered together and used:

-2 decent sized sweet potatoes

– avocado oil

-apple cider vinegar

-Flavor God Pizza seasoning

-Himalayan pink salt

I also used a potato peeler and a knife as seen in the picture!

IMG_0271

I know you’re jealous of our American flag plates – LOL.

IMG_0272

So after I washed and scrubbed them, I cut the ends of the potatoes and any weird little parts off. I also skinned them completely because I hate potato skins, but feel free to leave the skin on if you like the skin! I also rinsed them off one more time after I skinned and cut them just to make sure there was nothing on them and they were ready to cut!

IMG_0273

Okay, this part made me want to cuss. After about 15 minutes of cutting and only having a quarter of a potato done, I requested the help of my mom & the cutting then went by much quicker. If you have something that makes fries for you, I would highly suggest using that because it would be much easier I’m sure haha. If not, grab two knives & your mom and catch up on whatever gossip you can think of – it’ll go by much faster!

IMG_0274

This is the seasoning I put on the fries after I put them in our NuWave oven. If you don’t have a NuWave… where have you been? Seriously, GET ONE. We use ours for every meal almost and it makes things to much easier and crispier than conventional ovens. Anyway, I mixed the apple cider vinegar, avocado oil, salt, & Pizza seasoning together here and then once I put them on the rack, I brushed the mixture onto the potato pieces because I didn’t want them soaked.

IMG_0276

Here they are on our NuWave rack & freshly brushed with the seasoning mixture. Again, if you don’t want to use exactly what I used for the seasoning, mix it up! You can use cinnamon, brown sugar & oil for a sweet fry or chili flakes and vinegar for a spicy fry! The possibilities are endless and honestly it’s just however you want your fries to taste! I, again, wanted a savory fry so I went with apple cider vinegar & pizza seasoning!

IMG_0277

So in the NuWave I cooked them for 7 minutes & when that time was up, I moved them around and cooked them again for another 5 minutes (I lined the bottom with foil so I avoided a mess with the seasoning and I could just simply crumple the foil when I was done instead of having to wash the bottom tray)! The NuWave seriously cuts down on cook time and it’s so incredibly convenient. We use ours for chicken, steaks, fries, tater tots, turkey, pizza, bread, cupcakes – literally everything. If you want to learn more about the NuWave I recommend it because it changed our lives. If you’re using a conventional oven I would suggest using a baking sheet lined with foil and cooking the fries for about 30-45 minutes at around 375. Also, with this method, after the first 15 minutes, I would shake them around every 10-15 minutes after that until they are golden brown! Again though, 12 minutes in the NuWave compared to 45 minutes in an oven… c’mon now. That’s why the NuWave is the bomb.

IMG_0279

These are the final product & they were DELISHHHH! I sprinkled them again with just a little bit of salt and Pizza seasoning immediately after they came out of the NuWave and they were delicious. They’re a healthy alternative to traditional fries and even though they take a little bit of prep and cooking, it’s worth it in saved calories!

Let me know if you try these and if you use my method of seasoning or if you used your own ! I would love to hear what you guys come up with so I can try it next time I make these! Also, here is a link for the NuWave set we have because I seriously highly recommend this to everyone that doesn’t like waiting around for things to cook – everyone in my family uses this (HSN usually has pretty good deals on these!). As always, thanks for reading (:

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.35.58 PM

3 thoughts on “Homemade Healthy Sweet Potato Fries!

  1. I enjoyed your blog and I luv cooking sweet potatoes fries. I, personally cut them up as potatoes chip instead of fries, same principles of the steps you listed except on the style of cutting the potatoes.
    Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

